Gluten Free-Coconut berry corn bread

This week, I made various types of products using gluten free ingredients. Gluten free products were very interesting for me because they had different appearances, teste and flavor. Past over this week, I researched about ingredients and recipes and I picked up one new recipe. And I experimented to understand about gluten free ingredients.

I found one recipe from a book which is the Coconut Flour Cookbook. I chose Coconut berry corn bread because this recipe include variety gluten free ingredient and be easy for me.

According to the result what I researched on internet, the functions of each ingredients are summarized as follow.

Coconut flour Coconut flour is high in fiber and low in carbohydrates. The texture is a bit lighter than almond flour, which is used for cakes, muffins and breads.
Cornmeal A gluten-free grain. It is used to make corn flour, corn starch, grits, hominy, and polenta, all of which are gluten free. Corn gluten does not include the harmful protein to those who have celiac disease.
Coconut Oil Is substituted for solid fat (butter), which is used cakes, brownies, bread. Coconut oil is nutritional value.
Maple syrup Substitution of sugar. Nutritional value

I made two recipes gluten- free coconut berry corn bread and regular one.

The recipes are as follow:

Day1

Coconut Berry Corn Bread            

  Ingredients  
Bread flour 33g
Unsalted butter 28g
Whole eggs 150g
Ground cinnamon 2g
Baking soda 1/4 tsp.
Salt 1/2 tsp.
Vanilla extract 1/4 tsp.
Sugar 60g
Blueberries or other berries 150g
Total weight

Gluten -free coconut Berry Corn Bread

 

 

Ingredients  
  Coconut flour 13g
  Cornmeal 18g
  Coconut oil 28g
  Whole eggs 150g
  Ground cinnamon 2g
  Baking soda 1/4 tsp.
  Salt 1/2 tsp.
  Vanilla extract 1/4 tsp.
  Maple syrup 60g
  Blueberries or other berries 150g
  Total weight  

Above recipe retrieved from Coconut Flour Cookbook (2014) Fair Winds Press Text and photography by Erica Kerwien.

  • This book is written about coconut flour recipes also include lots of good pictures.

Testing and Outcome

Coconut berry bread recipe includes very little of flour than other ingredients. Eggs are added almost five times and maple syrup is added about two times it will be cause too much sweetness. I guessed that coconut berry bread will be rough teste because cornmeal is added more amount than coconut flour, which has coarse texture. Also, coconut berry bread includes around two time of coconut oil than flour. I thought that the bread will have too much coconut flavor because of coconut oil. In addition, I thought that the bread will be poor volume or be like steamed egg mixture. Nevertheless, I decided to try making coconut berry bread and I gained insatiate result. Despite my concerns, the bread batter become bread shape but inside of bread was little bit strange. The inside of texture was like sponge texture which has lots of holes. Also, the bread was so oily and dance.

imageimageimageimageimagewpid-wp-1443151720427.jpeg

For the reason, I changed recipe:

Day 2                                                                                                      Day3

  Ingredients     Ingredients  
  Coconut flour 13g   Coconut flour 13g
  Chickpea flour 20g   Chickpea flour 20g
  Coconut oil 28g   Coconut oil 28g
  Whole eggs 150g   Whole eggs 150g
  Ground cinnamon 2g   Ground cinnamon pinch
  Baking soda 1/4 tsp.   Baking soda pinch
  Salt 1/2 tsp.   Salt 1
  Vanilla extract 1/4 tsp.   Vanilla extract 1
  Maple syrup 60g   Granulated sugar 25g
  Blueberries or other berries 150g   Maple syrup 40g
  Total weight     Blueberries or other berries 150g
        Total weight  

Next day I tried to make coconut berry bread to changing recipe. The result was that I got satisfied result. The bread not only had enough volume and good flavor but also taste. However, the bread had little bit strong cinnamon flavor and baking soda & slat taste. So I decided to reduce those ingredients.

imageimageimageimageimage add Chickpea flour (Day2)

Final day I made gluten -free coconut berry bread and coconut berry bread with gluten using bread flour. I thought that the bread made bread flour have more good volume and taste but the result was interesting. The bread with gluten had dense texture and not enough volume. The bread batter was like custard, I thought that the reason is because of adding large amount eggs. If I used more flour, I gain good shape of bread. However, five classmates like this bread. They were satisfied the bread flavor and taste. Also, they would like to buy the bread, if I sell it. According to feedback about the bread, I should have used cake pan or proper size and shape. If I used proper equipment, I would produce good result. On the other hand, the gluten-free bread had enough volume, texture and flavor. The result reduced cinnamon and baking soda contribute to improve flavor. Six of classmates chose gluten-free bread. The bread was high moisture and soft texture. They were satisfied flavor of the bread.

imageimageimageimageimage  Coconout berry bread with Gluten
imageimageimage

imageimageimage

  Gluten free coconut berry bread(Day3)

First day of  this course, I worried about the new recipes, ingredient and methods. Especially, I had to experiment gluten-free and regular one. However, past over a week, I enjoyed making new products and I gain lots of knowledges about ingredients such as flour and starch. Through this course, I would like to know about gluten-free ingredient and handling those ones in deep.

About Sarah

My name is Sarah Yeonhee Park. If you would like to know about me more, I would like you to go to my page"About me".

Leave a Reply

